Lamar University Press Logo

Monday deadline to register to vote in Texas primary

Monday is the deadline to register to vote in the Texas primary election that takes place March 3.

Primary elections give voters the chance to decide what candidate of a certain party they want to run in the general election, which takes place in November.

Texas is an open primary state meaning that voters do not have to be registered to a specific party to vote in that party’s primary. But, voters can only vote in one primary.

For example, registered Republicans can vote in the Democratic primary, but they will not be able to vote in the Republican one in the same election.

As of this publication date, there are seven candidates whose names will be on the Republican primary ballot — Bob Ely, Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente Guerra, Zoltan G. Istvan, Matthew John Matern, President Donald J. Trump, Joe Walsh and Bill Weld.

Fourteen candidates will be on the Democratic primary ballot — Michael Bennet, Joe Biden, Mike Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente (son of the Rocky De La Fuente running in the Republican primary), John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, Robby Wells and Andrew Yang.

In addition to the presidential election, there is also a U.S. Senate and House election taking place in November.

Republican Senator John Cornyn is up for re-election with four other candidates who will appear on the party’s ballot — Virgil Bierschwale, John Anthony Castro, Dwayne Stovall and Mark Yancey.

Challenging Cornyn from the Democratic side are 12 candidates — Chris Bell, Michael Cooper, Amanda Edwards, Jack Daniel Foster Jr., Annie “Mama” Garcia, Victor Hugo Harris, Mary “MJ” Hegar, Sema Hernandez, D.R. Hunter, Adrian Ocegueda, Cristina Tzinztún Ramirez and Royce West.

Every U.S. House member is up for re-election in Texas’ 36 districts. District 14 encompasses Beaumont to Freeport and Republican Randy Weber is running against fellow party member Joshua Foxworth and five Democrats — Sanjetta Barnes, Adrienne Bell, Eddie Fisher, Robert “Puga” Thomas and Mikal Williams.

In addition to nation-wide seats, Texans will also be voting on the state railroad commissioner, Supreme Court of Texas places 6, 7, 8 and the chief justice of Texas. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals also has places 3, 4 and 9 up for grabs.

The state board of education, Texas Senate and Texas House candidates will also be on the ballot. To view a complete list of candidates for every race, visit texas

Early voting begins on Feb. 18 and concludes on Feb. 28. Election Day is March 3.

To learn more about voter registration, including how to register, visit

Category: News